Fun with Raymond

[X-ray straight to Ray]

Not long ago there was some reunion activity involving Ray at Oxford, or maybe Cambridge. I really couldn’t fully decipher who, what and where, but a few of the Brits on Raymond’s <CG> page made comments. Some of which follow (some intervening posts have been deleted):

Feb-26-15

Premium Chessgames Member

offramp: <MissScarlett: <Ray, do you (or anyone) know when this year’s Oxford v Cambridge chess match.> Wot?
<The internet seems to have no info.>http://chess.soc.ucam.org/ >Thank you!
I did see that, but the location was a bit vague:
<5. 133rd Varsity Match: 1st Varsity team (07.Mar), location: London>Big place, London. I think it’ll be at the RAC on Pall Mall.
Feb-26-15
Premium Chessgames Member
MissScarlett: You mean, like it has been for the past few years, at least? After all that, are you actually intending to go?
Feb-26-15
Premium Chessgames Member
offramp: <MissScarlett: You mean, like it has been for the past few years, at least? After all that, are you actually intending to go?>Erm… Are you going?
Feb-27-15
Premium Chessgames Member
ray keene: Varsity match is at RAC Pall Mall Saturday March 7. Starts around noon. I have written pieces with the info for The Sunday Times, The Times and The Spectator.
Mar-07-15
Premium Chessgames Member
offramp: I am there right now. In the St James Room. I’m wearing the gold and red Middlesex tie.
Mar-07-15
Premium Chessgames Member
MissScarlett: I’m the big black guy sitting right behind you.
Mar-07-15
Premium Chessgames Member
offramp: Michael Francis Stean was looking well.
Mar-08-15
Premium Chessgames Member
MissScarlett: How was Ray looking?
https://twitter.com/Times_Chess/sta…

The last post contained a link to a rather out-of-focus picture of Ray, perhaps a selfie? (BTW- I’m using the familiar Ray, which is a bit informal. I hope Raymond, err, Mr. Keene doesn’t mind). Here’s the original picture:

Keene - varsity match

I thought I could improve upon the picture a little, and sharpen my photoshop skills at the same time. Here’s the result:

Keene-photoshop copy

I must say that I’m rather pleased with the results.

(For a similar treatment of Tony Miles, see here).

Leave a Reply

